On 22nd April 2019, Emirates and SpiceJet have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to enter into a codeshare agreement to open new routes for passengers flying on these airlines.

Related: Entire list of 40+ Priority Pass Lounges in India

Current Emirates Gateways into India

Emirates currently connects the world to the following 9 Indian Gateways through Dubai (DXB).

  • Ahmedabad (AMD)
  • Bengaluru (BLR)
  • Chennai (MAA)
  • New Delhi (DEL)
  • Hyderabad (HYD)
  • Kochi (COK)
  • Kolkata (CCU)
  • Mumbai (BOM)
  • Thiruvananthapuram (TRV)

Emirates can now fly to 6 new Indian cities with the SpiceJet codeshare

emirates spicejet codeshare agreement dubai uae

With the new codeshare agreement between Emirates and SpiceJet, Emirates can now expand its reach to 6 new Indian cities, since SpiceJet already has flights to these cities from DXB.

  • Amritsar (ATQ)
  • Jaipur (JAI)
  • Pune (PNQ)
  • Mangalore (IXE)
  • Madurai (IXM)
  • Calicut (CCJ)

What this also means, is that Emirates can now offer increased domestic connectivity in India to other airports like Goa, Hubli, Guwahati, Vishakapatnam and Tuticorin.

Vice-versa, SpiceJet passengers traveling from India can now tap into Emirates massive network into Europe, North and South America, Middle East and Africa.

You can read the official news of the codeshare agreement on the Emirates website here.


This codeshare comes at the right time for Emirates to expand into Indian cities. This will also open up potential options to redeem Emirates Skywards miles on SpiceJet flights. We’re not sure when this codeshare agreement will go into effect, but we can’t wait 🙂

What do you think of the Emirates – SpiceJet codeshare agreement? Let us know in the comments.

Like The Points Habibi on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter for more updates on loyalty programs and tips to save in Dubai and UAE.

Read More: